Alli’s ‘Dear John’ break-up letter to 2011

31 Dec

Dear 2011,

I’m afraid there’s no other way to say this … we are through. Done and dusted. No more. And frankly, I can’t wait to live a life without you.

We started our relationship 12 months ago on shaky ground thanks to the floods and cyclones in Queensland. Lives lost, families torn apart – complete devastation. While we weren’t personally affected by your actions, we knew many who were, and we cried along with them, unable to tear ourselves away from the 24/7 television coverage.

But I hung in there. I believed things would get better. Sadly, I was wrong.

No sooner had the flood waters subsided than you decided to take someone special from us. Dear old Poppy, my grandfather; a man who gave his life to help others. A man who lived for his family.

As if that wasn’t enough, you decided to kick us when we were down. Just days after Poppy’s death, my husband’s father, a beautiful, salt-of-the-earth man, Neville (Poppa to his adoring grandchildren), suddenly died of a heart attack. No warning. Gone long before his time. Words can’t describe the grief, the shock, the anger. And worst of all, the circumstances surrounding his death meant it would be weeks until we could say a proper farewell. How could you, 2011?

Fast-forward a month. We escaped to Hong Kong for a work trip, just my husband and me. After a few child-free days exploring this fabulous city, we felt stronger and ready to face reality. And down we came with a thud to the news that my cat of 17 years had been hit by a car and killed while we were away. I was not prepared for the complete and utter heartbreak that came with losing my furry little friend after so many years by my side.

Just as we were trying to pick ourselves up and dust ourselves off, my beautiful Aunty Val was diagnosed with breast cancer – surgery first, followed by months of treatment would follow.

I also had to sit by and watch far too many of my close friends suffer through miscarriages, feeling useless as I offered up empty words; words that could not ease their pain, no matter how much I wanted them too.

Add some serious financial pressures, a break-in at our home and a family falling-out, and we thought things had gotten as bad as they could get. Nope!

Next we had to put our 15-year-old cat down thanks to cancer, in the same week that my formerly invincible Dad was diagnosed with bowel cancer, in the same week we had to move house.

I thank God what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, as I have come to the end of my relationship with you, 2011, feeling a little like a punching bag. I’m exhausted – emotionally and physically.

But I am stronger.

You have broken my heart for the last time. We are through! I am seeing someone else. Someone who I know will treat me with respect, with love, and perhaps may even make me smile a little … 2012.

So I am going into my new relationship with 2012 with high hopes, big dreams and positive thoughts.

It’s not all bad. Thankfully, Aunty Val and Dad are now cancer-free. My little boy is a delight – he makes my heart smile. My husband and I are in a better place – the heartbreak of this year only strengthening our relationship. I am now a partner in several businesses with two people I love and respect – my divine friend, Genine, and little brother, Hamish.

So I am looking forward to 2012 – to a fresh start. Time for me to put on my big girl’s panties and say goodbye to you, 2011, forever. Good riddance!

Anyone else looking forward to 2012 as much as I am?

Alli

4 Responses to “Alli’s ‘Dear John’ break-up letter to 2011”

  1. Karen Doolan (@fitfigures) January 3, 2012 at 3:07 am #

    Wow, powerful stuff!! As you say 2011 was given to us to make us stronger. 2012 is already a far better year. Here’s to fantastic 2012 for all of us!! PS, all the best in your endeavour to get healthier! I look forward to hearing how you are going.

    • alli & genine January 4, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks Karen! Completely agree!!! And stay tuned – I’ll be updating my progress already in a blog today …

      Alli x

  2. Justin and Nicole December 31, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    We’re with you too Alli. 2011 hasn’t been great for us either and we’ve only had a fraction of your torment. What’s amazing is your resilience, strength of character and sense of humor – all very inspirational.

    • alli & genine December 31, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

      Thanks Justin … I hope you have a wonderful year too as I know it hasn’t been the best for you guys either. Here’s to 2012! Alli x

We would love you to leave a reply!