So I’m A Little Obsessed With Short Men; Is That A Problem? Alli fesses up …

10 Jan

Jamie Durie .. short and HOT!

I dig short men. There, it’s out there.

But before I continue on with my confession, I need to clarify something. I don’t have some kind of twisted dwarf fetish. I don’t intentionally covet little people. Not that there’s anything wrong with that … if that’s what you’re into … (okay, this is getting weird, so I’m moving on …).

I just seem to gravitate towards men who aren’t overly tall. A little height-challenged. Average height. Okay, maybe a little below average height, but far from tall.

I have no idea why or when my short man obsession kicked in. I didn’t spend my dating years scouring bars for guys on the five side of six foot. Nor did I whip out a tape measure before accepting an invitation for a date. I have had a couple of tall boyfriends (one was even six foot four) but if we averaged the height of my former flames, they are, well, a fair bit below six foot four.

Without even realising it, (until lately, thanks to several of my far-too-honest friends and nine hundred bottles of wine), I have developed a pattern. A type. And apparently my type is ‘short’. Short, dark and handsome. Ahh, feels good to get it off my chest. I LIKE SHORT MEN AND I’M NOT ASHAMED!

Both my husbands are short. Okay, that sounds so wrong. Just to clarify, I am only married to the one husband right now. I may dig short guys, but I’m not into polygamy! My ex-husband is short. My current husband (inside joke) is also short (well, same height as me, but short on the ‘bloke scale’). Who knows how tall my next husband will be (another inside joke … honestly!)?

I’d like to think it’s a coincidence, but I’m big enough and ugly enough to admit that it’s not. I see the pattern.

Tom Cruise ... short, hot, and a tad loopy!

All you have to do is check out my celebrity crushes. Tom Cruise (pre-couch jumping episode, needless to say) … five feet eight inches of hot (and loopy!).  I’ve always had a thing for Sunrise’s Grant Denier (I need to be clear – not Today’s Steve Jacobs. Not all short men float my boat). And you can break me off a piece of Jamie Durie any day … Meow!

As a lover of short men, I get the complete and utter shits when people put guys down for being short. ‘Short man syndrome’ is bandied around like it’s some kind of serious medical condition. It’s not. No wonder some men end up with issues. Thankfully, my husband isn’t one of them.

He walks with his head held high. He encourages me to wear high heels. Lucky for him I fall over just looking at sky-high stilettos, so he rarely has to worry. He is spunky, intelligent, sporty and talented. So what if he’s not six foot three? Should he have to feel inferior because he wasn’t blessed with a couple more inches? (And I am talking height here, just to clarify … ) Luckily, ‘professional NBA basketball player’ wasn’t on his QTAC form.

Steven Spielberg ... short and successful!

Height, like age (so says the wife of a younger man) is just a number. It doesn’t impact whether you will or won’t succeed in life. Woody Allen, 5 foot 6. Michael J Fox, 5 foot 4. Anthony Hopkins, 5 foot 8. Al Pachino, 5 foot 6. Steven Spielberg, 5 foot 7. Robin Williams, 5 foot 8. Ghandi, 5 foot 3. Prince, 5 foot 2. Pablo Picasso, 5 foot 4. Kermit the Frog. Average frog height. Need I go on?

Being short is no different to having a big nose, fat knees, buck teeth or a flat chest. It’s a genetic thing. I would never tease someone for having a big honker, yet friends and family are quick with the ‘short man’ jokes after a few beers. Water off a duck’s back for Si, but not nice, all the same.

Men cop it, and yet, women don’t get teased for being short. What’s with that? We try our best to teach our children to be comfortable in their own skin. Yet, we turn around and call someone a ‘short-arse’ like they should be ashamed. Please!

Big girl’s panties on, I’m off to give my height-challenged husband a big hug. Because he’s all the man I need. As they say, it’s not the size of the dog in the fight but the fight in the dog.

Have you been teased because you are short? OR do you have a ‘type’ when it comes to relationships?

Alli

x

13 Responses to “So I’m A Little Obsessed With Short Men; Is That A Problem? Alli fesses up …”

  1. Frank Little January 17, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    Assume that you are a woman who happens to meet a rather handsome short guy [5’2″ in height.] This fellow has immense energy, works very hard and succeeds in everything he undertakes. In conversation he asks the pretty woman: “Do you think that I have a great deal of energy?” She answers, “why yes and it shows.” He immediately turns around to leave her, and as he goes glances over his shoulder and asks “if the energy hasn’t gone up where do you think it went?” He then disappears into the crowd. What does the pretty woman think?

  2. Geoffrey A. January 12, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    Cute post. I re-blogged it at my blog about heightism (The Social Complex).

  3. Jason Todd January 11, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    From a male perspective, some of the worlds greatests athletes fit into that magical category (5’6 – 5’8). Particularly excelling in the toughest sport in the world, rugby league.

    To name a few,

    Wally Lewis
    Alan Langer
    Terry Lamb
    Jeff Toovey
    Cliff Lyon

    Actually its a huge list so i wont go on. You see short guys are generally more co-ordinated. Not like some of these goofy, lanky tall blokes. Lower centre of gravity, better leverage and faster twitch muscle fibres.

    And of course its common knowledge that short guys are more adventerous and willing when it comes to matters of a physical and pleasureable nature.

    Way to go Allie, I always knew you were a woman of fine taste.

    JT

    • alli & genine January 11, 2012 at 8:30 am #

      Jason, bless you for ALWAYS throwing something interesting into the ring. We LOVE that you are engaged with our little world – bring on the blokes, I say!

      Good points above … and I’m SURE you’re not just saying all this ’cause you’re short … ha!

      Fabulous things come in small packages, don’t they?

      Thanks for being fabulous!

      Alli
      x

  4. Liz January 10, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    I have loved my short, dark & handsome husband for 15 years. It is definitely quality above quantity any day for me. Who cares, I’m a good 3 ½ inches (more with heals) taller than my beautiful man. He definitely doesn’t have ‘short-man’ syndrome. And if I wasn’t married Jamie could certainly knock on my door too.

    • alli & genine January 11, 2012 at 7:42 am #

      Liz I hear you! Agreed – quality wins every time! And thanks for sending the pic too. LOVE IT!

      Alli
      x

  5. Toni-Louise January 10, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Funny and interesting post Alli cos I kind of tend to be looking for a “taller” man..lol..

    My ex hubby of 15 years and still wonderful friend was 5’10”; height was never an issue, then again I am only 5’5″ (okay okay 5’41/2″) and my on off relationship of the past 9 years (very off now) was with a man who was 5’11″… so I think I’m on the rise up. I don’t know.

    For me there’s something about the “taller man” thing that gets my attention. eek..Thinking it’s about time I let go of my “tall” standards and took the height out of the equation 🙂

    • alli & genine January 11, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      To each his own, as the saying goes Toni!

      Although I can highly recommend the love of a shorter man … ha!

      Thanks for your comment!

      Alli
      x

  6. Catherine Craig January 10, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Enjoyed your post Alli. I have been married to my short dark & handsome husband for 31 years now. I am happy to join with you in saying I LIKE SHORT MEN & I’M NOT ASHAMED!
    PS Have long been a fan of Jamie Durie’s landscaping skills.

    • alli & genine January 11, 2012 at 7:44 am #

      Oh, so you like his landscaping skills, Catherine? Ha! He could landscape my garden any day!

      And thanks for being an out and proud member of the I HAVE A SHORT HUSBAND club!

      Alli
      x

  7. Kara January 10, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Love it. From the wife of a short (but HOT) husband 😉

We would love you to leave a reply!

