I Come From Bogan Stock: Genine Confesses Her Family Roots PART ONE

9 Jan

I was sitting on the couch the other day watching TV and my husband pointed out that I was “still a bogan”. I was horrified! “As if!” I exclaimed.

However, deep down, I knew it was the truth. Maybe my Ugg Boots gave it away? I don’t know …

But how can this be? I am such a classy person – stylish, refined, well-spoken. I am a blogger and magazine publisher, and I rub shoulders with other stylish, refined, well-spoken people. Plus, all the soirées I attend are most definitely mullet-free zones.

How could I be referred to as a bogan? So I headed to the trusted source that knows all – Wikipedia – to find out what defines a bogan and to prove my husband wrong. Rowan, I am certainly not and have never been a bogan.

According to Wikipedia, a Bogan is defined as;

“The term bogan is Australian and New Zealand slang, usually pejorative or self-deprecating, for an individual who is recognised to be from a lower class background or someone whose limited education, speech, clothing, attitude and behaviour exemplifies such a background … Bogans typically wore “acid wash” jeans, ugg boots, and band t-shirts; had “mullet” style haircuts; and lived in the suburbs.Vehicles such as Holden Commodore or Ford Falcon utes also have similar association …” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bogan

Bugger.

The evidence is all there … I think I am in fact, a Bogan.

FACT 1 THAT GENINE IS A BOGAN … We lived in the suburbs of Melbourne (where all good bogans grow up). In fact, one suburb we lived in for most of my teenage years had the highest crime rate and drug use in Victoria (though it may have been Australia …). We used to hang out at the local milk bar and meet down the oval near the dunny block.

FACT 2 THAT GENINE IS A BOGAN … I am pretty sure they based the movie The Castle on our family and cousins. In fact, I am certain the script writers were around at my house at dinner time;

Dale Kerrigan: [voice-over] Dad also had a way of making everyone feel important … And he would compliment Mum every night on her cooking.
Darryl Kerrigan: Well hello. How’s this boys. Woo hoo. What’ do you call this?
Sal Kerrigan: Chicken.
Darryl Kerrigan: And it’s got something sprinkled on it.
Sal Kerrigan: Seasoning, Darryl.
Darryl Kerrigan: Seasoning! Looks like everybody’s kicked a goal!

Darryl Kerrigan: What’s this darl?
Sal Kerrigan: Rissoles.
Darryl Kerrigan: What are rissoles darl?
Sal Kerrigan: Oh, everyone makes rissoles darl. [exerts from The Castle]

Spaghetti bolognaise was indeed a ‘European’ meal, and Friday night was bangers and mash – tops! Everyone was kicking goals.

FACT 3 THAT GENINE IS A BOGAN … Everyone in our family owned cars, and sometimes more than one (usually one was ‘on blocks’ waitin’ to get fixed). We were car mad. And yes, it was generally either a Holden or a Ford. True to Bogan culture, one side of the family were devout Holden lovers while the other side (the pussy side) favoured Fords. It was literally like a religion.

My family was shocked when I bought a 1971 Ford Capri followed by a 1984 XE Falcon (with a bullbar and spotties, aka spotlights). My sister owned a Torana which she upgraded to a SLR 5000 Holden Torana (black and white, flares with a B and M shifter, mate – true dinks!). Our cousins all had cars and spent the majority of their time working on them / washing them/ driving them and doing burnouts and doughies, or taking them to the drags on a Thursday night.

Darryl Kerrigan: Ay Steve, can you move the Camira? I need to get the Torana out to get to the Commodore.
Steve Kerrigan: Sure thing Dad, but I’ll have to get the keys to the Cortina if I’m gunna move that Camira.
Darryl Kerrigan: Alright mate, just watch the boat. [exert from The Castle]

1971 Ford Capri

FACT 4 THAT GENINE IS A BOGAN … The dress sense was a big giveaway. Everyone in our family had a pair of moccassins (usually black), plus we all wore trackie dacks and flannies (flannelette shirts), although mine was a ‘classy’ flannie. It was black and white checked and I wore it to the 1987 Slippery When Wet Bon Jovi concert. A boyfriend’s outfit would usually entail a blue ‘wife beater’ singlet or some form of band t-shirt (AC/DC, Metallica, Barnies etc), acid wash, torn jeans that were so tight you could see which way he was … ahem, ‘hangin’ … and a flannie tied around his waist.

FACT 5 THAT GENINE IS A BOGAN … Speaking of boyfriends, their names were usually along the lines of Daz or Waz, whose best mates were Gaz and Baz. Their respective girlfriends were usually Shaz, Kaz, Kylie and Cheryl …

Was this one of Genine's ex-boyfriends?

FACT 6 THAT GENINE IS A BOGAN … Bogans are synonomous with smoking. I started smoking at the age of 13 though a big FYI I don’t anymore and have not for years … ell does the odd social ciggie count?). They were Peter Jackson, no less, and they came in a pack of 15’s perfect for my school shirt pocket so the teacha didn’t know. My entire family were on the durries. In fact, I think I had my first ciggie at the dinner table when I was 16 (much to my mum’s horror, I  admit). My step-dad smoked Kent and my mum smoked Kool, coz that was cool. My sister chose Winnie Blues, while I had migrated to Longbeach (they were a bit classy as they had a really nice picture of a beach and that on the front).

Longbeach cigarettes were 'classier' than the usual Bogan durries

FACT 7 THAT GENINE IS A BOGAN … Bogans (males) generally worked in some form of trade. My sister is a qualified motor mechanic. She taught me how to change spark plugs, change the oil and clean out the carbie. I remember years ago when my now-husband was driving to go on a date with me and his car broke down. He called to let me know he would have to get the RACQ out to fix the car. I told him not to bother but to try and turn the engine over and put the phone up to the engine. It was the fuel pump. I could tell coz it made this funny noise, ya know?

FACT 8 THAT GENINE IS A BOGAN … Even the concerts I went to were like a list straight out of the Wikipedia definition of a Bogan; AC/DC, Jimmy Barnes, Motley Crue, Metallica, Bon Jovi (twice) … I will, however, mention here that I have been to Kenny Rogers, Madonna, Culture Club and Roxette – or does that make it worse?! But that Motley Crue concert kicked arse I reckon. Best eva!

This could very well have been me at an AC/DC concert ...

So, there you have it – PART ONE of my Bogan confessions. Happy? Betta be or I’ll knock ya block off … oh, sorry, I was slipping back to my roots there for a moment!

Now before I embarrass myself too much, I am going to take my Ugg boots off, put my big girl’s panties back on and go have a West Coast Cooler … I mean glass of crisp New Zealand Sauvigon Blanc … here’s til PART TWO – it gets worse …

Genine x

Can you admit to being a Bogan? Come on, be brave!

10 Responses to “I Come From Bogan Stock: Genine Confesses Her Family Roots PART ONE”

  1. blogger Carol Howard's hubby January 15, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Hi kids – The movie “The Castle” did indeed lionise bogans. Since then they’ve bred and in the current hot spell can be found in great numbers at air-conditioned shopping centres enjoying the air conditioning, or reluctantly concluding their business at Centrelink and so having to go back out into the cruel world. Only a real bogan would take bits from the sound-track of “The Castle” and call them ‘exerts’. That’s okay ‘cos it’s true Orstrayan lingo. It’s spelt exerpts, but in true bogan style the ‘p’ is silent, as in swimming. Luvya.

  2. Nae January 9, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    lol I am having flash backs of high school!! Always thought you should have got the Biggest Bogan award in year 12 instead of me!!

  3. Liz See January 9, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Oh my goodness….we would have been best friends for sure! Looking forward to hearing the next instalment of my lost youth!

  4. lyn January 9, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    I too smoked Kool and Longbeach along with the afro perms that thank God have disappeared along with the ciggies. Takes one to know one though!!

  5. Katrina January 9, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    I have a photo of your husband wearing a white suit and a blonde mullet!!

  6. Lisa Wood January 9, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Love it! Such a great description of what a bogan is 🙂 And so funny, yet so true! Love being a Bogan….but I um don’t know how to fix a car, nor do I own ugg boots (only cause its too hot here!)

    Cheers
    Lisa

  7. smile chickie January 9, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    friday night was pie night at our house, my vehicle of choice was a 2-toned datsun 180B, i sported a nasty perm and i chipped my front tooth swigging out of west coast cooler…
    i’m thinking i might qualify as having bogan roots too?????
    love your work! 🙂

    • alli & genine January 9, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      You so totally have bogan roots there … consider yourself qualified! I too had the nasty perm .. part two may very well include images of me – if I am brave enough! Genine x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stéréotype du Bogan | Au pays d'Oz - March 29, 2012

    […] dans ses confessions de Bogan, confie que ses petits amis s’appelaient en général Daz ou Waz, dont les meilleurs […]

  2. I Come from Bogan Stock: Genine Confesses Her Bogan Roots PART TWO « alliandgenine - January 13, 2012

    […] Okay, so the other day I shared some dark secrets about myself and family (sorry Mum!). I confessed that yes, I grew up as a bogan. If you missed part one of my blog, click here. […]

We would love you to leave a reply!

